The Program

Home  »  The Program

Program Summary

The Awards Luncheon

The 2018 awards luncheon was held on on Monday, Oct. 15, 2018 at Wynlakes Golf and Country Club. To view the 2018 recipients and finalist, click here. If you are intersted in  sponsorshiping the 2019 award program and luncheon, please contact The Samaritan Counseling Center at 334-262-7787.

River Region Ethics in Business and Public Service Awards

The River Region Ethics in Business and Public Service Awards is a program of The Samaritan Counseling Center, Inc. in collaboration with Auburn University Montgomery’s School of Business and School of Sciences.


The purpose of the program is to bring the importance of business and public service ethics to the forefront of communities throughout the River Region and to honor those individuals and companies that practice and believe in good ethics. It is hoped that businesses and agencies throughout the community will aspire to be considered for this award.

The Awards

Five recipients are selected each year from businesses, non-profit organizations/public agencies, and individuals that have demonstrated exceedingly high ethical conduct, integrity, and civic responsibility as reflected in their dealings with individuals, businesses, employees and the community. Organizational awards are given to small, medium, and large businesses, as well as a non-profit organization or public agency. An individual award, the Maury D. Smith Award for Excellence in Professional Ethics, is also presented.

The History

The River Region Ethics in Business and Public Service Awards is based on a program created more than 16 years ago by the Samaritan Institute in Denver, Colorado, the accrediting organization for The Samaritan Counseling Center, Inc. These Founders felt that individuals and companies who have successfully integrated ethical business conduct and social responsibility into their daily decision-making should be publicly honored.

The Process

A public announcement for nominations will occur annually in the fall. Up to six (6) nominees per category will be passed on to AUM Schools of Business and Sciences faculty and students. Business and public administration students at AUM will interview and conduct research with individual and organizational nominees as part of their semester course work. A Selection Committee of community leaders will review the results of the students’ research and narrows the field in each category to three (3) finalists and one (1) award winner to be specially recognized. The selection of the Maury D. Smith Award for Excellence in Professional Ethics award will be chosen by the Board of Directors of the Samartian Counseling Center.

The Beneficiaries

Proceeds from the event benefit The Samaritan Counseling Center, Inc. to strengthen individuals, families and organizations and AUM’s Schools of Business and Sciences to further the study and teachings of ethical business and organizational practices.

2018 Events Committees

Jessica Taylor , President

Selection Committee:

J. Michael Jenkins, IV, Chair
Anna Buckalew
Angela Crosby
Linda Dennard. Ph.D.
Boukhee Han
Scott Kiker
Christopher Smith

Event Committee:

Nan Barganier, Chair
Brian Key
Libba Roby
Rachael Gallagher
Katie Nixon
Eloise Stewart, Event Coordinator